July 8, 2008





Town Council President John Perrin opened the meeting at 7:00 p.m. with the pledge to the American flag. Council members present were John Perrin, Don Harris, Joe Noonan and Scott Alspach.  Also present were Clerk-Treasurer Maribeth Alspach and Department Heads Jim Lasiter and Ed Stephenson.  Councilman Spencer and Department Heads Yates and Hedrick were absent. 


Employee Group Health Insurance Renewal

Jerry Stone of Sintz & Associates is here to share alternative coverage options as requested.


Jerry states he researched the Pharmacy Plan with a deductible program and found that the max deductible in the State of Indiana is $100.00 per individual.  President Perrin asks if a higher deductible were to become available during our policy year would we be able to change to it.  Jerry doesn’t think so – our rates are locked in for a year.


After reviewing 3 additional options it is decided that Department Heads will schedule employee meeting to educate their employees about the new policy changes and to encourage a greater use of the various programs that offer generic drugs for $4 - $5 with no insurance needed and no co-pay required.  Jerry Stone offers to attend the meetings to answer any questions.  Don Harris suggests that a councilmember also attend to help with questions.  Jim & Ed will coordinate meeting dates and times with Jerry and the council.


Member Harris moves to accept Option #3 / Pharmacy Plan 5 V.  Member Noonan seconds the motion.  Vote 4 affirmative.


At this time there will be no increase in the employee’s share of the premium but that may change when we get our budget information.


Councilman Harris thanks Jerry Stone for all of his efforts on our behalf.





Being no other business the meeting was adjourned at 8:15 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,



Maribeth Alspach, Clerk- Treasurer



Approved: _____________________________  

                 John Perrin, President