APRIL 7, 2006



Town Council President John Perrin opened the meeting at 7:00 p.m. with the pledge to the American flag. Council members present are Scott Alspach, John Perrin, Joe Noonan and Terry Spencer.   Also present was Clerk-Treasurer Maribeth Alspach.  Councilman Don Harris is present but not participating in the meeting as he is a candidate for the position being considered tonight.



Town Marshal Appointment

Council President Perrin states that we received 9 applications and interviewed 4 candidates on April 6, 2006.  All 4 of the candidates interviewed extremely well and any of them would have made an excellent Town Marshal.  Perrin explains that in the last 15 to 16 years they have used an interview format where all of the candidates are asked the exact same questions.  Each member of the interview board scores each question individually.  At the end of the process the scores are tallied and the candidate with the highest score is offered the position. In this instance we had four highly qualified candidates but can only select one.  Councilman Alspach states that this was the hardest decision they have ever been asked to make he wishes they could chose all 4 and have them rotate quarters.  There were many good ideas and suggestions made during the interviews. President Perrin states that the scores were close but the highest score was received by Ed Stephenson.  Perrin notes that the results were extremely close which is why they used only the accumulated scores as the basis of their decision.


Councilman Spencer moves to appoint Ed Stephenson as Town Marshal based on the interview scores and is seconded by Councilman Noonan.  Vote 4 affirmative.


Councilman Alspach states that there were so many great ideas presented during the interview process.  He encourages the four finalists to put their heads together and share those ideas for the betterment of the department.  The council congratulates Marshal Stephenson and thanks the other finalists for their interest in the position and their dedication to the citizens of New Whiteland.


Being no other business the meeting was adjourned at 7:08 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,




Maribeth Alspach, Clerk- Treasurer




Approved: _____________________________

               John Perrin, President