NOVEMBER 1, 2006




Town Council President John Perrin opened the meeting at 7:00 p.m.  Council members present were Joe Noonan, Scott Alspach, Don Harris and Terry Spencer.   Also present were Attorney J. Lee Robbins and Clerk-Treasurer Maribeth Alspach.


Attorney Robbins states this is a Special Meeting of the New Whiteland Town Council for the purpose of holding a hearing as requested by David Stokes regarding his dismissal from the New Whiteland Police Department as permitted under Indiana Code Section 36-8-3-4.  Attorney Robbins outlines the procedural format of this hearing.

The Town Marshal will present his case.  Mr. Stokes and his attorney will then have the opportunity to ask questions or cross examine any witnesses.

Mr. Stokes attorney, Mr. Auger will then present his case.  The Town Council has the right to question any witnesses and require certain documents to be filed.

Attorney Robbins advises the council that their decision is to be based solely on the evidence presented at this hearing.


Mr. Auger has asked that two of his witnesses testify before Marshal Stephenson presents his case because they need to leave.  Marshal Stephenson and the council agree.


Attorney Robbins asks that all potential witnesses stand.  Clerk-Treasurer Alspach swears all of the witnesses in prior to the hearing beginning.


The following people are called to testify:

Jeremy Thomas Wilkey, 206 Bel Aire Drive, New Whiteland, IN

Patrick Piccione, 206 Bel Aire Drive, New Whiteland, IN

David L. Glaze, 50 Alex Drive, Whiteland, IN

Edward J. Stephenson, New Whiteland Town Marshal

Andrew J. Baldwin, Attorney with Baldwin Reasoner who defended Glen Richards

David Stokes, 460 Meadowlark Drive, Whiteland, IN

Glen Richards, 152 Bel Aire Drive, New Whiteland, IN

Roy W. Hendershot, 635 Saraina, New Whiteland, IN


President Perrin recommends that all councilmen review the documents presented tonight.  The council will meet in another Special Meeting at 7:00 p.m. on November 8, 2006 to render their decision.


Being no other business the meeting was adjourned at 9:25 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,




Maribeth Alspach, Clerk- Treasurer




Approved: _____________________________  

                 John Perrin, President